speed is the source of emotions ...

Categories

New California Traffic Laws in 2012

Monday, January 2, 2012 @ 03:01 PM
posted by admin

Car seats, impounds among new traffic laws

2011-12-30 08:28:33

With a new year come new laws for the road, and the California Highway Patrol is trying to make sure drivers know about the new rules.

The new laws – passed by the legislature this year – will affect child safety seats, unlicensed drivers, electric vehicles, and the penalties for driving under the influence.

“Our hope is by educating the public of these new traffic safety laws in advance, more lives will be saved in the New Year, said CHP Commissioner Joe Farrow in a written statement.

For drivers with young children, the requirements for children to ride in a car seat or booster seat have changed.

Beginning Sunday, children who are younger than 8 years old, and shorter than 4 feet, 9 inches, will be required to ride in the back seat with a car or booster seat.

If the child is older than one year old and more than 20 pounds, they can ride in the front seat if there is no rear seat, or all back seats are occupied by children under 8 years old.

“However, the law still maintains that a child may not ride in the front seat with an active passenger airbag if they are under one year of age, less than 20 pounds, or riding in a rear-facing child seat,” read a statement on the new laws from the CHP.

The new year will also mark a change to sobriety checkpoints, where officers will no longer be allowed to tow a car when the only offense is that the driver did not have a driver’s license.

“The new law requires that the officer make a reasonable attempt to identify the registered owner in order to release the vehicle,” the statement read.

Drivers who have been repeatedly convicted of driving under the influence might also face harsher penalties.

Courts may now revoke the license of a driver convicted of three DUIs for up to 10 years. After five years the driver could request a limited license, but it would require them to install an Ignition Interlock Device in the vehicle.

Other laws that go into effect Sunday morning:

•Anyone convicted of reckless driving can apply for a limited driver’s license before the end of their year-long suspension, but will required to use an Ignition Interlock Device in their car.

•Electric Vehicles must be plugged in for refueling if they are using an EV-designated parking space. If not, they may be towed.

•Local governments can now regulate advertising signs on vehicles that are left parked on a public street, unless the sign is painted directly and permanently on the vehicle and does not extend beyond the vehicle’s length, width, or height.

http://www.ocregister.com/news/new-333623-seat-year.html

 

 

Share

Comments are closed.