Car seats, impounds among new traffic laws
With a new year come new laws for the road, and the California Highway Patrol is trying to make sure drivers know about the new rules.
The new laws – passed by the legislature this year – will affect child safety seats, unlicensed drivers, electric vehicles, and the penalties for driving under the influence.
“Our hope is by educating the public of these new traffic safety laws in advance, more lives will be saved in the New Year, said CHP Commissioner Joe Farrow in a written statement.
Teen related auto injuries are a big focus for California traffic safety, and here in Orange County we have our fair share of them. Our office encourages parents to discuss the dangers of driving with their children. There are also some very good courses out there to help educate young drivers. Many auto insurance carriers also give discounts for courses such as the teenSMART or teensurance. Saving money on your auto insurance is not the main reason that young drivers should take the course though, safety is.
This article below from the Orange County Register has some other great information for parents and young drivers.
For those who are trying to keep their auto insurance premiums as low as possible you will want to read into this new California law. In the past, drivers were able to go to traffic school once every 18 months to avoid having the ticket affect the price of their auto insurance. Although the new law will still allow traffic school for a first violation within 18 months, if you get a second violation, not only is that ticket chargeable on your auto insurance, but the first ticket that you went to traffic school for will also become chargeable.
Drinking & Driving
by Kristal on February 9, 2010
Have you received a DUI and are now paying way to much for your auto insurance? Just because you have a DUI doesn’t mean you have to pay ridiculous amounts of money for your auto insurance. Give us a call and see if we can help you save money. 877-425-5788
Good Hands Roadside Assistance From Allstate
Someday You’ll Need Roadside Assistance.
That’s The Only Day You’ll Ever Pay.
Never Pay A Dime Unless You Use It. Good HandsSM Roadside Assistance, is a new Allstate service that gives you free access to Allstate’s 24/7 Roadside Network should your car break down for any reason. Need service now? Call 1-800-ALLSTATE.
May 19th, 2011, 3:00 am · 58 Comments · posted by Teri Sforza, Register staff writer
We at The Watchdog did not look very good in the fuzzy photo documenting our sojourn through the intersection of Harbor Drive and Orangethorpe Avenue in Fullerton.
Oh, we saw the bright flash of the red light camera, and shook our head sadly for the car slightly behind us and to the right. Sucker!
California Drivers Beware
The Golden State has designated April as Distracted Driving Awareness Month, and has pledged zero-tolerance enforcement on distracted driving throughout the month.
That means–in theory, at least–drivers using hand-held cell phones or texting while driving will be targeted by law enforcement and pulled over. Laws against these activities have been on the state’s books for a while, but enforcement has been notably lax.
It’s more than just words. In the state, 225 local police agencies and 103 California Highway Patrol (CHP) commands will be writing tickets to scofflaws breaking state law. The CHP is already writing more than 10,000 tickets per month, according to official numbers.
Liability is the main reason that we should carry auto insurance.
If you have a vehicle that is worth $20,000 and you don’t have collision coverage you could be out $20,000 if you total your vehicle.
But, If you hit someone else, and total their $20,000 vehicle then there could be a lot more at stake.
Property Damage Liability – Covers Damage to Others Property
- What if you caused a vehicle to spin out of control and hit a building, or a bridge, or any other structure?
This question should be answered by your agent, as not every policy is the same.
For the policies that we offer through our office the answer is:
All coverage that you have on your auto insurance policy extends to any temporary replacement vehicle. If you do not have comprehensive and collision coverage then you will need to purchase the damage waiver from the rental car company.
Why might it be a good idea to purchase the damage waiver even if your insurance covers your rental car?